Main content

Modern materials are increasingly being collected by museums and the heritage sector as artists, designers and manufacturers adopt or adapt these materials for their art and products. 

Modern materials are varied and include plastics, pigments, binders, coatings, fabrics and can also include objects that without their electronic and digital components do not function or have value.

This network is dedicated to their preservation and hopes to bring together specialist knowledge and opportunities to network for this purpose.

#IconMMN

Co-chair
Vanessa Applebaum, Conservator - Objects, Science Museum Group
vanessa.applebaum@ScienceMuseum.ac.uk 

Co-chair
Jannicke Langfeldt, Conservation and Collections Care Manager, Science Museum Group
Jannicke.Langfeldt@ScienceMuseum.ac.uk 

Members’ liaison
Fabiana Portoni, Preventive Conservator, The British Museum
FPortoni@britishmuseum.org 

Conference liaison 
Carla Flack ACR, Sculpture and Installation Art Conservator, Tate
carla.flack2@tate.org.uk 

Web manager
Bhavesh Shah, Scientist (Environment), Victoria and Albert museum
b.shah@vam.ac.uk 

Social media manager
Adriana Francescutto Miró, Sculpture and Objects Conservator, Science Museum Group​
Adriana.Francescutto@ScienceMuseum.ac.uk